Storm season is back, bringing with it the potential for significant weather events. If you have clients in areas prone to infrastructure disruption, visit the Disaster Recovery Resources guide for preparedness information. Datto recommends performing proactive disaster recovery testing to mitigate potential downtime. See our articles about the importance of disaster recovery testing and Preparing For A Cloud Virtualization Test: Policies, Procedures, And Partner Responsibilities to learn more. For live updates, follow @datto on Twitter.

How Do I Cancel and Reinstate Accounts In Datto Drive?

Follow

Question

How do I cancel and reinstate accounts in Datto Drive?

Environment

  • Datto Drive

Answer

Cancelling an Account

Cancelled accounts and associated data will be removed 30 days from the date of cancellation. 

Cancelling a domain immediately suspends all users' access to that instance of Datto Drive. Billing for that domain also stops upon cancellation.

 To cancel an account:

1. Log in to the appropriate subdomain and choose the Manage tab.

drive_cancel_restore.jpgFigure 1: Manage Accounts

2. In the left pane, click Domain Cancellation. This brings you further down the page to the Domain Cancellation section.

3. Click the Cancel Domain button. This prompts you to confirm the cancellation. Once you confirm, the account becomes archived and is inaccessible. 

If you plan to reinstate the account, you must do so within 30 days. Datto does not keep archived accounts or data beyond that time.

Overview_1.pngFigure 2: Datto Drive status

End User's Perspective

Any end user trying to access a cancelled domain will see the following image:

cancelled.jpgFigure 3: Datto Drive archive notice

Restoring an Account

Restoring an archived domain immediately reinstates it to full capacity, including accessibility, settings, and billing. 

To restore an archived domain:

1. The end user or partner must log in to partner.dattodrive.com

archived.jpgFigure 4: Datto Drive domain reinstatement page

2. Click the Reinstate Domain button. This prompts you to confirm the reinstatement. Once confirmed, the account immediately becomes accessible to all authorized users. Billing will restart, and invoice creation will resume on the first day of the following month. 

Overview_4.pngFigure 5: Datto Drive status page


Was this article helpful?

1 out of 1 found this helpful

You must sign in before voting on this article.

Calling all Partners! We want to hear your feedback! Please participate in this quick survey and help us build a better, more-relevant Knowledge Base!

Want to talk about it? Head on over to our Community Forum!