ALERT: Datto Drive Cloud service will no longer be available as of June 1, 2019. For more information, see our end-of-life article. To learn how to download your Datto Drive Cloud data, please visit this article.

How do I Re-Purpose or Decommission a Datto BCDR Appliance?

Follow

Topic

How do I re-purpose or decommission a Datto BCDR appliance? 

Environment

  • Datto SIRIS
  • Datto ALTO
  • Datto NAS

Description

This article describes the steps to decommission or re-purpose a device for another client.

Procedure

Re-purposing a device for a new client

Ensure the Datto appliance is still checking in before performing the following steps. Click here to troubleshoot any check-in errors before continuing.
  1. Change the device hostname to something generic and non-customer-specific. Typically, Datto appliances ship with the name backupDevice. You can do this from the Configure → Networking tab of the GUI.
  2. Remove all restores, including file restores, image exports, and virtualizations, from the Recovery Launchpad in the Partner Portal. You will not see the removal option if there are no active restores; in this case, move on to the next step.
  3. From the device GUI, run the Dataset Cleanup feature to remove any remaining data not deleted by the other steps.
  4. Remove all restores, including file restores, image exports, and virtualizations, from the Restore tab in the appliance's GUI. You will not see the removal option if there are no active restores; in this case, move on to the next step.
  5. Remove all agents from the device. Performing this step will irreversibly delete all local and offsite data for the agents. If all agents on the appliance are archived, you can temporarily add an agent to the unit to make the Protect tab visible.
  6. Delete all NAS shares from the File Share tab in the GUI. If there are no NAS shares, move on to the next step.
  7. In the Partner Portal, click Manage Clients, then delete the clients from the device. If there are no clients, move on to the next step.
  8. Run an offsite audit to ensure no cloud data exists on the offsite servers associated with the appliance. Submit a Prune Request to have any remaining data removed.
  9. Change the network settings back to DHCP to prepare for redeployment. You can do this from the Configure → Networking tab of the GUI.
  10. Replace all Local Users with a single administrator account.
  11. Create a ticket with Datto Technical Support to ensure that the appliance has no local or cloud data remaining, and to have Technical Support fully-update the appliance in preparation for re-deployment to another client.
  12. Contact your sales representative to ensure that the device is on the proper billing plan for its associated environment.

Decommissioning or Cancelling Service on a Device

Use this process if you intend to cancel service and stop using an appliance entirely, with no intention of re-deploying it. Resetting the device to factory settings does not cancel recurring service, and does not decommission it.

  1. Remove all restores, including file restores, image exports, and virtualizations, from the Recovery Launchpad in the Partner Portal.
  2. Remove all restores, including file restores, image exports, and virtualizations, from the Restore tab in the appliance's GUI.
  3. From the device GUI, run the Dataset Cleanup feature. Doing so will remove any remaining data not deleted by the other steps.
  4. Remove all agents from the device.
    Performing this step will irreversibly delete all local and offsite data for the agents.
  5. Delete all NAS shares from the File Share tab in the GUI.
  6. Run an offsite audit to ensure no cloud data exists on the offsite servers associated with the device. Submit a Prune Request to have any remaining data removed.
  7. Reach out to your sales representative to cancel recurring service, to avoid future charges on your monthly bill.

Disabling Reporting

To stop a device from reporting:

1. Log in to the Partner Portal.

2. Choose the Devices drop-down menu and select BCDR Status.

3. Select the relevant device from the list.

4. Under Task Queue, click the Device Alerts button

Figure 1: Device overview (click to enlarge)

5. There, you'll see power buttons to toggle specific alerts on and off, as well as an option to pause all of them for a specified amount of time.

TurnOffAlerts.jpgFigure 2: Device alerts (click to enlarge)

Additional Resources


Was this article helpful?

6 out of 11 found this helpful

You must sign in before voting on this article.

Want to talk about it? Have a feature request?

Head on over to our Community Forum or get live help.