Re-Purposing or Decommissioning a Device

Follow

Scope

This article describes the steps to decommission or re-purpose a device for another client.

Re-Purposing a Device

In the event that the device is going to be re-purposed for a different client, please follow these steps:

  • Remove all restores, including file restores, image exports, and virtualizations, from the Recovery Launchpad in the Partner Portal.
  • Remove all restores, including file restores, image exports, and virtualizations, from the Restore tab in the appliance's GUI.
  • Remove all agents from the device. Note that performing this step will irreversably delete all local and offsite data for the agents.
  • Delete all NAS shares from the File Share tab in the GUI.
  • Change the device hostname to something generic and non-customer-specific. Typically, Datto appliances ship with the name backupDevice. You can do this from the Configure → Networking tab of the GUI.
  • Run an offsite audit to ensure all Cloud data associated with the device was successfully removed by the offsite servers. Submit a Prune Request to have any remaining data removed.
  • Change the network settings back to DHCP to prepare for redeployment. You can do this from the Configure → Networking tab of the GUI.
  • Change the ‘Device Registration / Support Contact’ to something generic from the local web UI to be re-assigned later
  • Create a ticket with Datto Technical Support to ensure that the appliance has no local or cloud data remaining, and to have Technical Support fully-update the appliance in preparation for re-deployment to another client.
  • Contact your Sales representative to ensure that the device is on the proper billing plan for the environment it is to be deployed into.

Decommissioning or Cancelling Service on a Device

Use this process if you intend to cancel service and stop using an appliance entirely, with no intention of re-deploying it. Resetting the device to factory settings does not cancel recurring service, and does not decommission the device.

  • Remove all restores, including file restores, image exports, and virtualizations, from the Recovery Launchpad in the Partner Portal.
  • Remove all restores, including file restores, image exports, and virtualizations, from the Restore tab in the appliance's GUI.
  • Remove all agents from the device. Note that performing this step will irreversably delete all local and offsite data for the agents.
  • Delete all NAS shares from the File Share tab in the GUI.
  • Run an offsite audit to ensure all Cloud data associated with the device was successfully removed by the offsite servers. Submit a Prune Request to have any remaining data removed.
  • Reach out to your sales representative to cancel recurring service, to avoid future charges on your monthly bill. 

Disabling Reporting

To stop a device from reporting:

  1. Log in to the Partner Portal.
  2. Choose the Devices drop-down menu and select Status.
  3. Select the relevant device from the list to open the left pane.
  4. In the left pane, choose the Device tab. Scroll down to the Device Alerts row and click "Setup Alerts." There, you'll see power buttons to toggle specific alerts on and off, as well as an option to pause all alerts for a specified amount of time.

    TurnOffAlerts.jpg

Was this article helpful?

4 out of 7 found this helpful

You must sign in before voting on this article.

Want to talk about it? Head on over to our Community Forum!