Our Google Drive/Documents service will save and restore shared permissions for your files. When restoring a record from your Backupify/Datto SaaS Protection account, every user that had shared permissions will also have the file restore to their account. This affects files from both a single restoration and a full account restoration.
For example, if firstname.lastname@example.org shares a file with email@example.com, the next backup job will pull over the shared permission for firstname.lastname@example.org. If this record is then removed, the permissions will remain in Backupify/Datto SaaS Protection if the record is restored. When it is restored, both email@example.com and firstname.lastname@example.org will receive the restored file even if email@example.com did not request it.
Shared permissions will be removed from Backupify/Datto SaaS Protection if they are removed from the file in your Drive account. The next backup that occurs will remove these permissions and they will no longer receive the file if it were restored.
Sharing permissions will only remain during file restorations. Downloading a single record or requesting a zip export will remove the metadata associated with the file and importing the file will not include shared users.