Does Backupify for Google Apps maintain sharing permissions for Google Drive documents?

Follow

Our Google Drive/Documents service will save and restore shared permissions for your files. When restoring a record from your Backupify account, every user that had shared permissions will also have the file restore to their account. This affects files from both a single restoration and a full account restoration.

For example, if admin@company.com shares a file with employee@company.com, the next backup job will pull over the shared permission for employee@company.com. If this record is then removed, the permissions will remain in Backupify if the record is restored. When it is restored, both admin@company.com and employee@company.com will receive the restored file even if employee@company.com did not request it.

Shared permissions will be removed from Backupify if they are removed from the file in your Drive account. The next backup that occurs will remove these permissions and they will no longer receive the file if it were restored.

Sharing permissions will only remain during file restorations. Downloading a single record or requesting a zip export will remove the metadata associated with the file and importing the file will not include shared users.

-

To contact Backupify support, please click here to submit a Support Request, or give us a call at 1-800-518-7449.


Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

You must sign in before voting on this article.

Want to talk about it? Head on over to our Community Forum!