Our Google Drive/Documents service will save and restore shared permissions for your files. When restoring a record from your Backupify/Datto SaaS Protection for Google Apps account, every user that had shared permissions will also have the file restore to their account. This affects files from both a single restoration and a full account restoration.
For example, if [email protected] shares a file with [email protected], the next backup job will pull over the shared permission for [email protected] If this record is then removed, the permissions will remain in Backupify/Datto SaaS Protection for Google Apps if the record is restored. When it is restored, both [email protected] and [email protected] will receive the restored file even if [email protected] did not request it.
Shared permissions will be removed from Backupify/Datto SaaS Protection for Google Apps if they are removed from the file in your Drive account. The next backup that occurs will remove these permissions and they will no longer receive the file if it were restored.
Sharing permissions will only remain during file restorations. Downloading a single record or requesting a zip export will remove the metadata associated with the file and importing the file will not include shared users.
Note: Sharing permissions will only be restored if you are doing a restore from the original owner's account to the original owner's account. If you are doing a Drive restore to another user then sharing permissions are not retained. Similarly, if you are restoring the records from the backups of a user who had the record shared with them (they did not own it), no sharing permissions will be retained.