ALERT: Datto Drive Cloud service will no longer be available as of July 1, 2019. For more information, see our end-of-life article. If you'd like to migrate your data to Datto Workplace, see our migration guide.
To learn how to download your Datto Drive Cloud data, please visit this article.

SIRIS, ALTO, and NAS: Volume Level Backup Control

Follow

Topic

This artice describes how to use the volume level backup control option in the Datto SIRIS and Datto ALTO UI.

Environment

  • Datto SIRIS
  • Datto ALTO

Overview

Volume level backup control lets you choose which volumes on the protected machine to back up to the Datto device. This option applies to all future backups.

Procedure

To exclude a volume from future backups:

1. Open up the web interface for the device.

2. Click the Protect tab.

3. Click Configure Agent Settings for the agent you want to configure. 

4. Scroll down to the Advanced section, and find Volume level backup control, as shown in Figure 1.

Figure 1: Volume level backup control options (click to enlarge)

5. Check the boxes next to the volumes you wish to exclude from future backups. If you want to start a new backup chain after eliminating the volumes, click Delete under the Delete Dataset column. Note that this does not remove the data stored in previous points.

You will see a System Reserved volume on Windows Vista, Windows 7, and Server 2008r2, as these operating systems contain the 100 MB System Reserved Partition (SRP). By default, the Datto appliance excludes them because they are unnecessary for virtualization and restoration.

If you exclude a volume that you included in a prior backup, the volume level backup control option will display a warning next to the affected one. The Protect tab of the Datto appliance GUI will show the same warning next to the entry for the affected protected machine.

Figure 2: Missing volume alert, as seen in Volume Level Backup Control (click to enlarge)


Figure 3: Missing volume alert (click to enlarge)

Removing drives that a Datto appliance no longer protects

To remove unused drives without deleting all local data and taking a new base image:

1. In the Volume level backup control section of the Agent Settings tab, click Delete dataset for each drive.

2. Click Protect in the top menu bar, then click Start a backup to take an incremental backup. When it completes, click the backup button again to start a second incremental backup. 

3. After the next offsite synchronization, click the Protect tab from the top menu bar, then click Manage recovery points. 

4. In Manage recovery points, delete all the points before the incremental backups created as a result of step 2.


Was this article helpful?

2 out of 3 found this helpful

You must sign in before voting on this article.

Want to talk about it? Have a feature request?

Head on over to our Community Forum or get live help.