Storm season is back, bringing with it the potential for significant weather events. If you have clients in areas prone to infrastructure disruption, visit the Disaster Recovery Resources guide for preparedness information. Datto recommends performing proactive disaster recovery testing to mitigate potential downtime. See our articles about the importance of disaster recovery testing and Preparing For A Cloud Virtualization Test: Policies, Procedures, And Partner Responsibilities to learn more. For live updates, follow @datto on Twitter.

GUI: Force Retention

Follow

Topic

This article describes how to force local retention.

Environment

  • Datto SIRIS
  • Datto ALTO
  • Datto NAS

Description

This feature allows you to immediately apply configured local retention settings to an agent or NAS share on your Datto appliance. You can use this feature to free up space on the device.

Forcing retention will delete data from the appliance. It will not, however, delete any data from the Datto Cloud.

What is local retention?

Local retention is an automated process which deletes recovery points stored on the Datto device according to a preset schedule. Its purpose is to make storage space available for newer recovery points. When you force local retention, the Datto device immediately compares the age of its stored recovery points against the configured retention policy and deletes any points falling outside those storage times.

See this article for more information on the retention process, including default retention settings.

Procedure

To force retention, follow these steps:

1. Access the GUI of the Datto appliance.

2. Click the Protect tab. If you are forcing local retention on a NAS share, click the File Share tab.

3. Find the agent or share that you wish to configure.

4. Click Configure Agent Settings for that agent. For a NAS share, click Configure Share Settings.

5. Scroll to the Advanced section of the page, and click Force Retention, as shown in Figure 1.

Figure 1: Force Retention interface (click to enlarge)

6. Type yes at the prompt to confirm.

After forcing retention, device recovery points will be permanently deleted in accordance with the specified retention settings specified for the agent. When finished, you will see a notice that retention was successfully applied.

Figure 2: Retention completed (click to enlarge)

Additional Resources


Was this article helpful?

1 out of 2 found this helpful

You must sign in before voting on this article.

Want to talk about it? Head on over to our Community Forum!