Configure - Destroy Live Dataset

Follow

1. Background

This article describes how to remove an agent's live dataset from a Datto device. This will stop any backups in progress and delete the live disk images but leave the snapshot chain intact. This will result in the agent taking a new full backup, which will take up the space of a new full image on the device. Only use this option if this protected machine's disks have been re-sized or the protected machine's disk image is irreparably corrupt.

Using this option may require a RoundTrip to sync offsite if the upload speed at the site is insufficient.

2. Procedure

To destroy the live dataset, follow these steps:

  1. Open up Remote Web for the Datto device.
  2. Click on the Protect tab.
  3. Find the agent that you wish to configure.
  4. Click Configure Agent Settings for that agent.
  5. Go to the Advanced section, and scroll to Destroy Live Dataset, as shown in Figure 1.
  6. Click Destroy Live Dataset.
  7. After a few seconds, the process completes, and the page will reload.


    Figure 1 - Destroy Live Dataset

 


Was this article helpful?

1 out of 2 found this helpful

You must sign in before voting on this article.

Want to talk about it? Head on over to our Community Forum!