SIRIS Network Attached Storage: NAS Share Settings

Follow

Scope

This article explains how the configuration settings for a NAS share on a SIRIS appliance.

Configuration Settings

To configure a NAS share, go to the File Share menu, and click on Network Attached Storage. You will see a list of your existing shares.


Figure 1: Share list

Click on the Configure Share Settings link, as shown in Figure 1.

These settings apply to NAS shares only.

Make Share Public/Private

This button toggles between making the Share Public or Private. To back up a Mac via TimeMachine/AFP, the share must be private.

Figure 1: Public / Private toggle

Add User to Share

Use this feature to add user(s) to your share. The list displays all device users, minus the users that are already assigned to the share. Check the box "Add as admin" to enable administrative rights for the user.


Figure 2:
 Add User to Share

Manage Share Users

This feature allows you to adjust the permissions for users of the share. You can grant the user administrative access or remove the user from the share.


Figure 3: Manage Share Users

Other Share Options


Figure 4: Other Share Options

    • Enable Write Access for All Users: This setting changes the default setting of Write Access for Creator Only (WACO) to Write Access for All (WAA). For more information on this setting, see the article Datto NAS Access Control List.
    • Enable FTP, AFP/Time Machine, NFS, SFTP: Enable the protocols that you want to use to access this share.

Sync Settings

 Sync settings control pause and resumption of snapshots and synchronization to the cloud. 

Pause Snapshots

This selection lets you pause and resume local backups for this share. 

Figure 5: Pause Snapshots

Pause Cloud Snapshots

This option lets you pause and resume syncing backup snapshots to the cloud.


Figure 6: Pause Cloud Snapshots

Local Snapshot and Retention Policy 

Here, you can set the number of local backups per week, number of backups per day, and the times of those backups.

Figure 7: Local Snapshot and Retention Policy options

  • Set the Interval and Schedule for Local Snapshots allows you to individually select the interval between backups, time of the first backup, time of the last backup, and the days of the week on which backups will run. 
  • Set Retention for Local Snapshots determines how long the device retains local backups before deleting them.

Cloud Snapshot and Retention Policy

Here, you can select the number of offsite syncs from the NAS share to the cloud per week, number of offsite syncs per day, and the times of those synchronizations.

Figure 8: Cloud Snapshot and Retention Policy options

 

  • Set the Interval and Schedule for Offsite Snapshots allows you to individually select the frequency with which backups will replicate offsite.
  • Set Retention for Cloud Snapshots determines how long the snapshots are kept in the cloud before deletion.

Secure File Restore

Use this setting to secure access to an SMB share created for a file restore. This will require a login for access. 

Figure 9: Secure File Restore panel 

Reporting and Alerting

Growth Report

This option allows you to generate an emailed report detailing the size and growth rate of your share. You can choose daily, weekly, or monthly emails.

Figure 10: The Growth Report option

Critical Error Alerts

Enabling this option sends email alerts when a snapshot fails. These warnings may or may not indicate an ongoing snapshot issue.

Figure 11: the Warning Notices panel

Log Digests

This option sends a detailed summary of all the activity within the last 24 hours for this share.

Figure 12: The Log Digests option

Advanced

Force Retention

Click this option to remove stored local snapshots falling outside your current retention schedule as configured in Figure 8, above.

Forcing retention will permanently delete recovery points outside your retention settings. Please ensure the retention schedule is properly configured prior to using this option.

Figure 13: The Force Retention option

Destroy Live Dataset

Clicking this option destroys the live dataset . It will leave the local and offsite snapshot chain intact, but will force the Datto device to take a new full backup. 

Destroying the live dataset for the NAS share will destroy any production data that has not yet been committed to a snapshot.


Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

You must sign in before voting on this article.

Want to talk about it? Head on over to our Community Forum!