ALERT: Datto Drive Cloud service will no longer be available as of July 1, 2019. For more information, see our end-of-life article. If you'd like to migrate your data to Datto Workplace, see our migration guide.
To learn how to download your Datto Drive Cloud data, please visit this article.

SIRIS, ALTO, and NAS: Configure Share Settings

Follow

Topic

This article describes the Configure Share Settings options for Network Attached Storage (NAS) and iSCSI shares.

Environment

  • Datto SIRIS
  • Datto ALTO
  • Datto NAS

Description

Datto continuity appliances have the ability to take point-in-time snapshots of the onboard NAS shares they host and the external NAS shares they protect. To configure the share snapshot settings for your Datto appliance, perform the following steps:

1. Access the device GUI.
2. Click the File Share tab.
3. Choose the share that you want to configure.
4. Click Configure Share Settings.
5. You will see the configurable options described in this article.

Index

NAS share configuration options

iSCSI share configuration options

Sync

Reporting & Alerting

Advanced

Configuration settings for NAS shares

These configuration settings on the device are unique to NAS shares:

Make share public/private

This option lets you make a share available globally, or limit access. If you set the share to private, you must assign designated users.

If you make a private share public, it will remove existing assigned users. If you set the share to private again, you must reassign private users.

Figure 1: Make NAS share public or private (click to enlarge)

Add a user to Share

This option lets you give users root access to the share.

  • To add a user, type in the username and click the Add user button. Check the Add as admin box to grant the user root access to the share.

Figure 2: Add users to a NAS share (click to enlarge)

Manage share users and groups

This option lets you control which users and groups have root (admin) privileges for the share. It also lets you remove users.

  • To add a new admin, enter the username or group name and click the Grant admin access button.
  • To remove a user, enter the user or group name and click the Remove button.

Figure 3: Manage NAS share users and groups (click to enlarge)

Other share options

  • Enable write access for all users: This option lets you give all users of the share permission to write to the files and folders within it.
  • Apple Filing Protocol (AFP): Allows users with Mac OSX to access and use the share. This also allows Apple's Time Machine to back up files and folders within the share.
  • Network File System (NFS): Enabling this option allows endpoint machines to access and write to the share as though it were a local volume. For more information about NFS, see Microsoft's Network File System (external link).
  • Secure File Transfer Protocol (SFTP): Enables secure transmission of files and folders using SFTP.

Figure 4: Other NAS share options (click to enlarge)

Configuration settings for iSCSI shares

This configuration setting on the device is unique to iSCSI shares:

CHAP authentication

To set up CHAP authentication on the iSCSI share, click the Enable CHAP authentication checkbox, then click the Apply button.

Figure 5: CHAP Authentication on an iSCSI share (click to enlarge)

Snapshot settings

The snapshot settings are the same for both NAS and iSCSI shares. 

Sync

Pause Snapshots

The Pause Snapshots setting allows you to stop local backups for the selected share or for all shares on the device. When the Enabled setting is selected, backups for the share will run. When the Paused setting is selected, backups for the share will not run. Preferences for snapshot interval and snapshot schedule will be preserved when pausing backups for shares. 

Pausing backups for an agent or share will not suspend billing for it. To modify your billing plan, contact your Datto Sales Executive.

Figure 6: Pause Snapshots (click to enlarge)

Pause Cloud Snapshots

The Pause Cloud Snapshots setting allows you to replication of backups to the Datto Cloud for the selected share or for all shares on the device. When the Enabled setting is selected, replication will run. When the Paused setting is selected, replication for the share will not run. Preferences for snapshot interval and snapshot schedule will be preserved when pausing replication for shares.

Figure 7: Pause Cloud Snapshots (click to enlarge)

Local Snapshot and Retention

The Local Snapshot and Retention Policy setting allows you to specify how often your Datto appliance should capture a local backup of the selected share or for all shares on the device, and how long those backups should be retained on the Datto appliance.

Figure 8: Pause Cloud Snapshots (click to enlarge)

Cloud Snapshot and Retention

The Cloud Snapshot and Retention Policy setting allows you to specify how often your Datto appliance should replicate local backups of the selected share or all shares on the device to the Datto Cloud, and how long those backups should be retained on the offsite storage node.

Figure 9: Cloud Snapshot and Retention Policy (click to enlarge)

Reporting & Alerting

Critical Error Alerts

The Critical Error Alerts setting allows you to specify one or more email addresses which should receive a notification when local snapshots for the selected share are no longer occurring and are unlikely or unable to resume. To enter multiple email addresses, separate each entry in the list with a comma.

Figure 10: Critical Error Alerts (click to enlarge)

Warning Notices

The Warning Notices setting allows you to specify one or more email addresses which should receive a notification when the selected share encounters an error condition where a warning state has occurred. For example, a single snapshot for the share may have been missed but future snapshots are likely to resume. To enter multiple email addresses, separate each entry in the list with a comma.

Figure 11: Warning Notices (click to enlarge)

Log Digests

The Log Digests setting allows you to specify one or more email addresses which should receive a daily summary of the last 24 hours of activity for the selected share. To enter multiple email addresses, separate each entry in the list with a comma. Logs are sent by your Datto appliance at midnight (device time). Once you configure this setting, the first log digest will be sent after the next logging event occurs on your device.

Figure 12: Log Digests (click to enlarge)

Advanced

Force Retention

Clicking the Force Retention button immediately applies the device's retention policies for the share to its local backups. Learn more here.

Figure 13: Force Retention (click to enlarge)

Destroy Live Dataset

The Destroy Live Dataset option will stop any snapshots in progress for the selected share and delete its live disk images from the Datto appliance. It will leave the snapshot chain intact. Selecting this option will result in the share taking a new full backup, which will take up the space of a new full image on your Datto device. Only use this option if the protected share's disks have been resized or the protected share's disk image is irreparably corrupt.

Figure 14: Destroy Live Dataset (click to enlarge)

Change Connection Settings

The Change Connection Settings feature allows you to update the SMB address and connection credentials for the selected share. Use this feature if the address or the connection credentials of the production share have changed. To have your Datto appliance connect to the production share as a guest, check the Guest Access box.

Changing connection settings can help resolve One Or More Files Were Copied Unsuccessfully Due To Lack Of Permissions issues.

Figure 10: Change Connection Settings


Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

You must sign in before voting on this article.

Want to talk about it? Have a feature request?

Head on over to our Community Forum or get live help.