Backupify/Datto SaaS Protection: Archiving G Suite users

Follow

Topic

This article discusses how to archive users in Backupify/Datto SaaS Protection 1.0 for G Suite.

Environment

  • Backupify/Datto SaaS Protection 1.0 for G Suite

Description

Archiving accounts lets you:

  • Store departed employee data without having to pay to keep those accounts live in Google.
  • Search for and restore user files to other members of your organization who need access to outgoing employees' data.

Archiving users

Archiving users is an automated process. Once you suspend or delete a user account in G Suite, the Backupify/Datto SaaS Protection application will automatically recognize your action and archive that particular user in the next backup.

The user summary within the account administrative dashboard will update to show your active user vs. archived user count. This process may take up to 24 hours to update.

Figure 1: Active users vs. archived users (click to enlarge)

Identifying archived users

Backupify/Datto Saas Protection will show a blue circle icon next to archived users. 

mceclip0.pngFigure 2: The Archived User icon (click to enlarge)

Restoring archived users

To restore backups for an archived user, unsuspend the user's account in G Suite. Backupify/Datto SaaS Protection will recognize that change and update the user to active within 24 hours. When the user becomes active, the application will automatically resume backups to gather new data from the user's account.


Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

You must sign in before voting on this article.

Want to talk about it? Have a feature request?

Head on over to our Datto Community Forum or the Datto Community Online.

For more Business Management resources, see the Datto RMM Online Help and the Autotask PSA Online Help .

Still have questions? Get live help.

Datto Homepage