How do I archive my users' data?

Follow

Wondering how to archive employee Google Apps data using SaaS Protection/Backupify? Here’s a quick guide on user archiving that will make your lifecycle management much easier!

Archiving users is a simple, automated process. Once you’ve suspended or deleted a user account in Google, the SaaS Protection/Backupify application will automatically recognize your action and archive that particular user in the next backup.

The user summary within the account administrative dashboard will update to show your active versus archived user count:

*Note: this process may take up to 24 hours to update.

Any users that have been archived will be denoted with the blue circle icon, as seen below:

Archiving accounts enables you to:

  • Store departed employee data without having to pay to keep those accounts live in Google.
  • Search for user data and restore email or docs to other members of your organization who need access to outgoing employee data.

If you need to unsuspend an account on the Google Apps side, the application will recognize that change and update the user to active within 24 hours. When the user becomes active, the application will automatically start running backups again to gather new data from the user’s account. Happy archiving!

For more information on deprovisioning users in Google Apps, check out our related blog post:“How to Delete a Google Apps Account: 14 Steps."

-

To contact support, please click here to submit a Support Request, or give us a call at (800) 518-7449 (USA) or +1 (475) 288-1818 (worldwide).

 


Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

You must sign in before voting on this article.

Want to talk about it? Head on over to our Community Forum!