Backupify/Datto SaaS Protection for G Suite: How Does Backupify Handle Google Apps Domain Name Changes?

Follow

Question

How does Backupify handle Google Apps domain name changes?

Environment

  • Backupify/Datto SaaS Protection for G Suite

Answer

Backupify will not automatically rename a domain when its name changes in Google Apps.

The previous domain's users will become archived. To back up new data under the new domain name, you'll need to set up a new account or a new subdomain on the existing account, using the new domain name. You will need a Google App super admin account to make these changes.

Datto recommends keeping any archived data under the old profiles and using the new profiles to house any newly-backed-up data. The new accounts will not include any data from the archived accounts, but, that data remains under the original accounts.

There is no way to re-activate the archived users under the old domain name or merge the archived and active user accounts across the two domains.

When a Google Apps username is changed (such as when a domain name change occurs), the system treats the change as if the previous user was deleted from Google Apps.

If your old Google Apps domain name is completely shut down or inaccessible, click here to submit a support request, or give us a call at 1-800-518-7449. The Support team will need to manually re-activate your user account so that you can access the backups.

To contact Backupify/Datto SaaS Protection support, click here to submit a support request, or click here for more contact options.


Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

You must sign in before voting on this article.

Want to talk about it? Have a feature request?

Head on over to our Community Forum or get live help.