Which services show deleted items?
At this time we highlight items deleted from your Google Drive account only. Items deleted from other services, such as Gmail, will always be available in your backup, but they won’t be highlighted as deleted.
How does Backupify/Datto SaaS Protection for Google Apps determine what’s been deleted?
Every time a backup is performed, a list of changes is obtained from Google that includes which documents have been deleted.
I’ve just started a free trial, when will I start seeing deleted items?
You will start seeing deleted items after 2 backups have completed, provided items were deleted between those two backups.
How long after I deleted an item does it take to show up in my deleted item list?
A deleted item will not show up as deleted until a backup has completed after the deletion. For Enterprise customers, backups run every 8 hours, so the maximum time after an item was deleted for it to show up as deleted is 8 hours. You can also run an on-demand backup, by clicking the ‘Backup Now’ button.
Note: The document will be available in Backupify/Datto SaaS Protection for Google Apps as soon as we back it up. It will take a second backup run to highlight specific items as deleted.
Can I see items that were deleted before I became a Backupify/Datto SaaS Protection for Google Apps customer?
No, only items that have been deleted since you became a Backupify/Datto SaaS Protection for Google Apps customer will be highlighted.
Can I see items that were deleted before this feature was turned on?
Items deleted before the release of this feature will be available in your backup but they will not be highlighted as deleted.
Can I see the deleted items of other users on my domain?
If you are an administrator for the domain, you will be able to see deleted items for all the users on your domain. If you are a user, you will only be able to see your own deleted items.
How do I find a deleted item?
Recently deleted items are shown in their own section in the services page. From this section you can view all your deleted items. In the search page, deleted items have a greyed out icon.
Can I restore or export a deleted item?
Yes, you can!
Once I’ve restored a previously deleted item, how will it show up in my Backupify/Datto SaaS Protection for Google Apps archive?
Once a previously deleted item has been restored, it will show up twice in your backup. Once as deleted and once as not deleted. This is because the restored item is essentially a new copy of your document.
Can I remove a deleted item from my backup?
No, items in your backup will always be in your backup, just in case you need them.