Datto Drive Encryption

Follow

The goal of the Encryption app is to protect data on external storage. All files sent there will be encrypted by the Datto Drive server, and upon retrieval, decrypted before serving them to you (or those you shared them with). The key to decrypt the data resides on and never leaves the Datto Drive server.This makes the Datto Drive Encryption app a great tool to benefit from cloud storage offered by services like Dropbox or Google Drive while ensuring security and privacy of your data

To enable Encryption, follow these steps:

  1. Open the Admin page, as shown in Figure 1.


    Figure 1 - Admin menu

  2. Go to the Server Side Encryption section, and check in the box to Enable server-side encryption.


    Figure 2 - Server-side Encryption

  3. After clicking the Enable Encryption button, you see the message "No encryption module loaded, please load a encryption module in the app menu."
  4. Go into the Apps page, as shown in Figure 3.


    Figure 3 - Apps

  5. Click on Not enabled, as shown in Figure 4.


    Figure 4 - Enabled

  6. Find the Default Encryption Module in the list.
  7. Read the documentation before deciding to enable encryption.
  8. Click the Enable button to enable this module.

For more information about encryption on Datto Drive see the article How ownCloud uses encryption to protect your data.

Sharing Encrypted Files

Only users who have private encryption keys have access to shared encrypted files and folders. Users who have not yet created their private encryption keys will not have access to encrypted shared files; they will see folders and filenames, but will not be able to open or download the files. They will see a yellow warning banner that says “Encryption App is enabled but your keys are not initialized, please log-out and log-in again.”

Share owners may need to re-share files after encryption is enabled; users trying to access the share will see a message advising them to ask the share owner to re-share the file with them. For individual shares, un-share and re-share the file. For group shares, share with any individuals who can’t access the share. This updates the encryption, and then the share owner can remove the individual shares.

Recovery Key Password

If your ownCloud administrator has enabled the recovery key feature, you can choose to use this feature for your account. If you enable “Password recovery” the administrator can read your data with a special password. This feature enables the administrator to recover your files in the event you lose your ownCloud password. If the recovery key is not enabled, then there is no way to restore your files if you lose your login password.

Figure 5 - Enabling Recovery Key functionality

Files Not Encrypted

Only the data in your files is encrypted, not the filenames or folder structures. These files are never encrypted:

  • Old files in the trash bin
  • Image thumbnails from the Gallery app
  • Previews from the Files app
  • The search index from the full text search app
  • Third-party app data

There may be other files that are not encrypted; only files that are exposed to third-party storage providers are guaranteed to be encrypted.

Change Private Key Password

This option is only available if your log-in password, but not your encryption password, was changed by your administrator. This can occur if your ownCloud provider uses a external user back-end (for example, LDAP) and changed your login password using that back-end configuration. In this case, you can set your encryption password to your new login password by providing your old and new login password. The Encryption app works only if your login password and your encryption password are identical.

Figure 6 - Changing the recovery key password


Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

You must sign in before voting on this article.

Want to talk about it? Head on over to our Community Forum!