Datto Drive sync connections create a symbolic link between a local folder or subset of folders & the offsite cloud storage on your Datto Drive Subdomain. You may find that after setting this up you want to remove a particular folder from syncing.
To do this without removing local copies of data you can create a indefinite pause or exclusion rule on the folder.
1. Open the Datto Drive Desktop Application
2. Naviagate to the "General" Tab
3. Click on Edit Ignored Files
4. Create the rule, to exclude a particular folder the syntax is the folder name with a forward slash at the end. In my instance I created a folder called "Downgrade" and created the rule \Downgrade which stopped the sync of this folder and also puts yellow exclamation point icons on all the files indicating they won't be synced anymore.
The Datto Drive will remove local copys of the data if you uncheck the folder selection box for the folder in question, this work around will keep the folder structure in tact while simply ignoring this folder for new file synchronizations.