Backupify/Datto SaaS Protection: G Suite domain name changes

Follow

Topic

This article covers G Suite domain name changes and how it is handled by Backupify/Datto SaaS Protection.  

Environment

  • Backupify/Datto SaaS Protection for G Suite

Description

Backupify/Datto SaaS Protection does not automatically rename a domain if you change it in G Suite. In order to back up data under the changed domain name, you must set up a new Backupify/Datto SaaS Protection account, or create a new subdomain on the existing account, using the new domain name. Backupify/Datto SaaS Protection will archive the previous domain's users. 

Although their data remains under the original account, 'new' accounts will not include the archived data. We recommend keeping any archived data under users' old profiles, and housing newly backed-up data on the new profiles.

You cannot reactivate archived users under the old domain name or merged across the two domains.

Username changes

If you must change a G Suite username (such as when a domain name change occurs), the system treats the change as if the user with the old domain name/username was deleted from G Suite.

If your previous G Suite domain name is completely shut down/inaccessible, contact the Support team for manual reactivation. 

Additional Resources

-

To contact Backupify/Datto SaaS Protection support, click here to submit a support request, or click here for more contact options.


Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

You must sign in before voting on this article.

Want to talk about it? Have a feature request?

Head on over to our Datto Community Forum or the Datto Community Online.

For more Business Management resources, see the Datto RMM Online Help and the Autotask PSA Online Help .

Still have questions? Get live help.

Datto Homepage