Backupify/Datto SaaS Protection 2.0 for G Suite: How to disable shared folder backups

Follow

Topic

This article explains how to disable shared folder backups in Datto SaaS Protection/Backupify 2.0 for G Suite.

Environment

  • Backupify/Datto SaaS Protection 2.0 for G Suite

Description

By default, Datto SaaS Protection/Backupify backs up shared folder contents for all users with access to the folder, which may cause long backup times for some users. You can disable automatic shared folder backup from the Datto SaaS Protection/Backupify dashboard.

Procedure

You must have at least one Google service protected by Datto SaaS Protection/Backupify for the following options to appear.

1. From the Datto SaaS Protection/Backupify dashboard, click Settings, then click Advanced Settings from the drop-down menu.

mceclip0.pngFigure 1: The Datto SaaS Protection dashboard (click to enlarge)

2. Under Sharing Settings, uncheck the box labeled Backup Shared Drives and Google Drive shared files that are owned by other users. Then, click the SET button.

mceclip1.pngFigure 2: The Advanced Settings page (click to enlarge)

After disabling shared folder backups, the next incremental backup will remove the shared files from all users with access to the folder. If you re-enable this setting, the next incremental backup will add the metadata for all shared files. Doing so could cause the incremental backup to take longer than usual. 


Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

You must sign in before voting on this article.

Want to talk about it? Have a feature request?

Head on over to our Community Forum or get live help.

For more Business Management resources, see the Datto RMM Online Help and the Autotask PSA Online Help .

Datto Homepage