How long does Datto retain data after canceling service?
- Datto SIRIS
- Datto ALTO
- Datto NAS
For off-site data
Datto devices will continue to take backups for a grace period 30 days after service cancellation. Datto also retains data in the cloud for 60 days after you cancel service for a device. During this time, you can still access, interact, and obtain off-site data in a variety of ways, including:
For local data
Your data will remain locally on your device indefinitely, during, and after the 60 days after canceling service. When your Datto appliance no longer has active service, it will display the Your device has expired banner.
Retention does not apply to any backup at any point, as your Datto appliance will no longer back up or sync off-site any protected machines upon canceling service. However, you can still perform any locally-based restore in the UI.
What happens after 60 days?
Datto reserves the right to delete, after 60 days, the backed-up data in the Datto Cloud associated with your device. It is your responsibility, during this period, at your expense, to request a copy of the data if you would like to retain it. For more information, see our article on the Reverse RoundTrip process.