How does removing a user from your live environment affect the backups and license count?
- Datto SaaS Protection for Office 365
When you remove a user from your Datto SaaS Protection live environment for either G Suite or Office 365, you will step into the Classic environment.
If the user is unlicensed in the G Suite or Office 365 live environment, then the Datto SaaS Protection user will become Archived. The Archived users will be indicated by a small filing cabinet icon next to their name. Archived accounts will stop running new backups (as there isn't any G Suite or Office 365 user to backup) but they will continue to use a license because Datto SaaS Protection back up retains the data.
The archived users will still be able to restore or export. These accounts will continue to use a license until they are manually removed from Datto SaaS Protection.
Once you unseat a user in Datto SaaS protection, the user will stop running new backups, free up their license, and immediately have any existing backup data purged from the system.