Backupify/Datto SaaS Protection: How does removing a user from your live environment affect the backups and license count?

Follow

Question

How does removing a user from your live environment affect the backups and license count?

Environment

  • Datto SaaS Protection for Office 365
  • Datto SaaS Protection for G Suite

Answer

When you remove a user from your Datto SaaS Protection live environment for either G Suite or Office 365, you will step into the Classic environment.

If the user is unlicensed in the G Suite or Office 365 live environment, then the Datto SaaS Protection user will become Archived.  The Archived users will be indicated by a small filing cabinet icon next to their name. Archived accounts will stop running new backups (as there isn't any G Suite or Office 365 user to backup) but they will continue to use a license because Datto SaaS Protection back up retains the data.

The archived users will still be able to restore or export. These accounts will continue to use a license until they are manually removed from Datto SaaS Protection.

Once you unseat a user in Datto SaaS protection, the user will stop running new backups, free up their license, and immediately have any existing backup data purged from the system.

Additional Resources


Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

You must sign in before voting on this article.

Want to talk about it? Have a feature request?

Head on over to our Datto Community Forum or the Datto Community Online.

For more Business Management resources, see the Datto RMM Online Help and the Autotask PSA Online Help .

Still have questions? Get live help.

Datto Homepage