Backupify/Datto SaaS Protection for G Suite: Roles and Permissions

Follow

Topic

This article describes the roles and permissions for various user account types.

The permissions outlined below are not carried over from the Datto portal. All permissions are unique to the Backupify/Datto SaaS Protection environment.

Environment

  • Backupify/Datto SaaS Protection 1.0 for G Suite
  • Backupify/Datto SaaS Protection 2.0 for G Suite

Description 

Datto SaaS Protection accounts

For 1.0 users

Role Permissions Restrictions Description
Super Admin

 Can change billing information

Can remove users

Account cannot be deleted

Has full admin privileges

 

 

Cannot cancel accounts from within UI; the admin must call billing

When account is created, domain owner will be the Super Admin, unless account is partner-managed

Account cannot be deleted

General Admin Has all of the privileges of a Super Admin except a few (see next column)

Cannot add services or change billing information

Cannot add admins

Cannot add subdomains

 
Help Desk Admins

Has access to search metadata

Can initiate a backup and restore for any user

Can restore data to the person who owns the data

Cannot view metadata content

Cannot transfer data to anyone who is not the original owner

Cannot add or remove users

 

For 2.0 users

Role Permissions Restrictions Description
Super Admin

 Can change billing information

Can remove users

Account cannot be deleted

Has full admin privileges

 

 

Cannot cancel accounts from within UI; the admin must call billing

To remove a Super Admin, you must contact support

Account owner has to be a G Suite Super Admin unless account is partner-managed

General Admin Has all of the privileges of a Super Admin except a few (see next column)

Cannot add services or change billing information

Cannot add admins

Cannot add subdomains

 

Backupify accounts

There are two tiers of accounts for Backupify direct customers: Professional and Enterprise. Professional tier accounts can only have one admin. Enterprise accounts can have unlimited admins.

For 1.0 users

Role Permissions Restrictions Description
Super Admin

Can change billing information

Can remove users

Account cannot be deleted

Has full admin privileges

Cannot cancel accounts from within UI; the admin must call billing

When account is created, domain owner will be the Super Admin, unless account is partner-managed

Account cannot be deleted

General Admin Has all of the privileges of a Super Admin except a few (see next column)

Cannot add services or change billing information

Cannot add admins

Cannot add subdomains

 
Help Desk Admins

Has access to search metadata

Can initiate a backup and restore for any user

Can restore data to the person who owns the data

Cannot view metadata content

Cannot transfer data to anyone who is not the original owner

Cannot add or remove users

 

For 2.0 users 

Role Permissions Restrictions Description
Super Admin

 Can change billing information

Can remove users

Account cannot be deleted

Has full admin privileges

  Cannot cancel accounts from within UI; the admin must call billing

To remove a Super Admin, you must contact support

General Admin Has all of the privileges of a Super Admin except a few (see next column)

Cannot add services or change billing information

Cannot add admins

Cannot add subdomains

 

Additional Resources


Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

You must sign in before voting on this article.

Want to talk about it? Have a feature request?

Head on over to our Community Forum or get live help.