Backupify/Datto SaaS Protection for Office 365: How do I tell the status of my users and services?

Follow

Question

What are the possible user statuses, and how are they displayed in Backupify/Datto SaaS Protection for Office 365?

Environment

  • Datto SaaS Protection for Office 365
  • Backupify for Office 365

Answer

In Backupify/Datto SaaS Protection for Office 365

The archived users and services are marked by a small filing box icon next to the Name of the User, Site, or Team in the Recovery section of Backupify/Datto SaaS Protection. 

gsuite_2.0_users.png
Figure 1: Archived services in Recovery (click to enlarge) 

Active

The user is active in the Office 365 tenant and backups are occurring on an automated (scheduled) basis. 

Archived

The user is either suspended or deleted from the Office 365 tenant. Historical backed up data is available in Backupify/Datto SaaS Protection and subject to retention, but automated backups are stopped because there is no new data in the account to back up regularly. 

Recreating a deleted user in Office 365 will create a new user in Backupify/Datto SaaS Protection for Office 365 and the previously archived version will remain archived.  

In Backupify/Datto SaaS Protection for Office 365 Classic or 1.0

When using Backupify/Datto SaaS Protection for Office 365 Classic or 1.0, there is a listing for the total activearchived, and not protected users.  These symbols are used to show the status of each service by clicking View Users and navigating directly to the user's services.  

o365_1.0_user_summary.pngFigure 2: Active, archived, and not protected icons (click to enlarge)

Active

The user is active in the Office 365 tenant and backups are occurring on an automated (scheduled) basis. 

Archived

The user is either suspended or deleted from the Office 365 tenant. Historical backed up data is available in Backupify/Datto SaaS Protection and subject to retention, but automated backups are stopped because there is no new data in the account to back up regularly. 

Recreating a deleted user in Office 365 will create a new user in Backupify/Datto SaaS Protection for Office 365 and the previously archived version will remain archived.  

Not Protected

The user is not added to Backupify/Datto SaaS Protection, and backups are not occurring at all.


Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

You must sign in before voting on this article.

Want to talk about it? Have a feature request?

Head on over to our Datto Community Forum or the Datto Community Online.

For more Business Management resources, see the Datto RMM Online Help and the Autotask PSA Online Help .

Still have questions? Get live help.

Datto Homepage